Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Forest Ridge as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   4.0 / 5.0   based on 22 votes
Technical :   1.1 / 5.0   based on 22 votes
Climbing :   1.0 / 5.0   based on 22 votes
Freeride :   1.7 / 5.0   based on 22 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   4.1 / 5.0   based on 22 votes
Flow :   4.4 / 5.0   based on 22 votes



Forest Ridge trail has been reviewed 22 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:ForestRidgeManager
Reviewed on:09/27/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:rigotre
Reviewed on:07/28/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun flowy trail with very little technical sections and not a lot of climbing. I would consider this to be a better place to take beginners than Crabtree. However, the fact that it's bi-directional results in having to pull over quite a bit for other bikers coming the opposite direction. Would definitely enjoy it more if it was directional.
Reviewed by:abarry
Reviewed on:07/10/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun trail. Very smooth. Has a few small rocky sections. I wish it was directional. Its very easy to get going fast.
Reviewed by:Mtnman574
Reviewed on:07/09/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fantastic trail! Crabtree has always been considered “beginner,” but I would stat here first for a true single track experience. Ratings, and reviews above are solidly accurate!
Reviewed by:EdF
Reviewed on:04/28/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Nice, flowy trail that includes some pretty fast sections. Great views of the lake with plenty of pull offs to stop for a drink and a bar. I like the main loop counter clockwise and the extension loop clockwise but they ride well either way.

Agree there is a lot of room for expansion here - could rival New Light in length given the acreage. Would be nice to set directional days or something to keep folks going the same way - there are some blind corners and it gets a little dicey at times if you're carrying speed.
Reviewed by:wolfie
Reviewed on:10/04/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:SnowTrailsSurf
Reviewed on:08/28/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun smooth flowy trail to do some laps.
Reviewed by:wolfie
Reviewed on:08/15/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
only real one climb of any significance. A few bridges, a few turns, very flowy. Fun to ride.
Reviewed by:edp81
Reviewed on:08/09/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun trail. Not technical, but a great ride to get in some quick miles. Only difficulty is that it can get busy so don't plan on going hard the entire lap.
Reviewed by:donut
Reviewed on:07/31/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Super fun for quick weekday laps. Takes about 30 minutes to get there from downtown Raleigh with traffic.

Not a difficult trail, but you can definitely get a good workout in if you ride a few laps pretty hard. Great views of the lake, as well.
Reviewed by:Zilla
Reviewed on:07/24/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I rode Forest Ridge for the first time last Sunday when it was unbearably hot so I didn't want anything too difficult. The trail fit the bill for being flowy and fun without requiring a lot of technical effort. You basically pedal up the short up hills, and then point your front wheel on the trail. It's perfect to hone in on cornering and braking skills. You get beautiful views of the lake too. I plan to ride it again.
Reviewed by:EricF
Reviewed on:07/14/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:ecumike
Reviewed on:07/09/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail for beginners and intermediates. Crabtree is where I go for a workout, Forest Ridge is where I go for fun laps. If you’re a lazy MTBer like me and not a climber, Forest Ridge is your place.
Reviewed by:waitup
Reviewed on:06/21/2019
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun trail to lap several times and try to get speed up. I would consider this one of the best trails around to take a new rider to as it has plenty of flow and easy pedaling, while still having a couple of rock features for them to try.
Reviewed by:nhurst
Reviewed on:09/09/2018
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This is an awesome trail for people just getting into mountain biking or for grabbing quick laps during the week. There are a couple rock sections but they are very short and could easily be walked if you didn't feel comfortable with them. I've tracked the main loop around 2.5 miles and the extension to be almost a mile. For more advanced riders you can really keep your speed up through the entire trail. It's one of my favorites in the area because it allows me to keep seeing how much faster I can go. There are a decent amount of little jumps, but no jump lines or anything crazy. I'd agree that counter clockwise on the main loop and clockwise on the extension are probably the fastest way to ride it, but doing them in the opposite direction are super fun as well. There's also some gravel doubletrack that you can hop on after the trail to get your total mileage close to 7. I admit to loving these flowy machine built trails, would definitely recommend Forest Ridge if someone was in the area.
Reviewed by:Csmith1353
Reviewed on:05/21/2018
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Great trail to get out and hone your skills. Flows great and has lots of little jumps. I usually ride it counter clockwise and the extension clockwise. This trail has a lot of potential and will be extended in the future. The park has TONS of land to build on.
Reviewed by:B Man
Reviewed on:05/11/2018
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Many portions of the trail ride like a pump track, at least when ridden counter-clockwise.
Reviewed by:Allen R
Reviewed on:12/18/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Shorter trail with great scenery of Falls Lake. A good place for beginners to start their mountain biking adventure. A nice amount of off camber riding, with enough climbing to get in a workout. Reminds me a bit of Brumley, just much shorter. Would be great if another 3 miles could be added to get the trail at around 6 miles. That would help bring plenty of riders.
Reviewed by:Blowery
Reviewed on:11/17/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
No detailed review given.
Reviewed by:Doughnutz
Reviewed on:11/13/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Very nice flow trail. Excellent beginner level trail but fast and flow enough to keep the experienced rider grinning. Great property, tons of potential. Rides like Brumley only much shorter and less climbing. The location and scenery will make this a great introduction to MTBing for a lot of locals. I only clocked the loop at around 2 miles. Not sure where the 3-4 miles is unless you reverse or double up.
Reviewed by:Lightnin Rick
Reviewed on:11/05/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Two well marked loop trails, just under 4 miles Main loop and extension loop. Smooth packed clay with a lot of flow, hardly any roots but a couple nice rock obstacles. Probably the best single track for beginners I’ve seen in this area but still fun for advanced riders. Fast and smooth with some nice undulations so you can get some air. Add miles by turning around at the end and doing it the other way.
Reviewed by:David H
Reviewed on:10/13/2017
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
In general, I think the trails are very fun but short and hopefully this comment will be obsolete soon due to more trails added.

Not too technical, I do like how the trail has lots of wavy undulation up/down and side to side which still provides flowy trail but also provides a lot of pumping opportunities, places to pop into the air over the many undulations, rollers etc. Lots of opportunity to maneuver your bike. A few cool rocky sections. Not completely devoid of roots, which I think is good. The roots will expose themselves fairly quickly on these trails over time.

Not a lot of climbing. Good for beginners, kids and families. Hopefully more elevation change will be added with more mileage.

No freeride.

Nice scenic lake side trails.

Flow is high on this trail. Another machine built flowy trail but more fun based trail input in this type of flowy trail which I think is great.

Show all reviews