Your source for Mountain Biking in the Triangle
Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill

Trail Reviews for Williamson Preserve as submitted by trianglemtb.com guests

Average ratings submitted by users                     Write a review   User submitted reviews
CategoryAverage Rating
Overall :   3.8 / 5.0   based on 11 votes
Technical :   1.1 / 5.0   based on 11 votes
Climbing :   1.5 / 5.0   based on 11 votes
Freeride :   0.5 / 5.0   based on 11 votes
Scenery/Wildlife :   2.6 / 5.0   based on 11 votes
Flow :   3.9 / 5.0   based on 11 votes



Williamson Preserve trail has been reviewed 11 times by our trianglemtb.com guests.

Reviewed by:bholio
Reviewed on:10/31/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Nice trail. Lots of opportunity to practice and improve your turning skills. Very twisty and windy, just at the edge of being too tight, but not too tight.

The kind of place you know you can go faster if you work on your turning technique, and go a bit outside your comfort zone in the many curves.

Extra tricky when the ground is covered with slippery pin needles.

Surface is very smooth, no roots. Few rocks. No tech obstacles excepts the turns and pine needles.

As a bonus, its close to Legend, so hit that when you are done here.
Reviewed by:anythingshiny
Reviewed on:10/18/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
I REALLY enjoyed this trail. I've named it WAP (WilliAmson Preserve). Twisty, turny, flowy, fun. It's a fast paced 7.5 miles that just pulls you along. Check the trailhead for days and directions to keep oncoming rider conflits to zero. Quite a few hikers but generally polite and yielding, as was I.

Be careful on a few of the bridges as they could use some griptape to offset the wet leaves and sand that at speed are slickery.

This'll be a hoot at night.
Reviewed by:Meow
Reviewed on:10/13/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
There is flow but due to random sharp turns it took me a couple days to figure it out, plus the direction rotates on different days(IMO right turn days have more flow/speed, esp on the last half). The fact that this trail is close to me, bikers have the right of way, and the decent flow I’ll definitely be coming back on days where I want to get some pedal strokes in. There does seem to be some liveliness of the forest as well as far as wildlife and nature. Pretty sweet
Reviewed by:eddiejones3rd
Reviewed on:10/05/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Trail is very smooth and beginner friendly. Hard to maintain top-end speed due to some tight, narrow, and loose turns, A great opportunity to learn that slow is smooth and smooth is fast. Also great training spot for cyclocross riders.

Overall great use of natural topography and really liking the directional signage.
Reviewed by:Kurt Arehart
Reviewed on:09/25/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Fun, fast and flowy, with a few significant gravity features and a big honkin’ boulder to ride up and over if you like. 8 miles of trail not including a .5 mile connector down to the Neuse River Greenway. I got 12 miles without feeling overly repetitive. Fun stuff!
Reviewed by:snarfmasterX
Reviewed on:09/25/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
pretty flowy in general with plenty of little whoops and sweeping descents. This is a really chill ride through a sandy pine/oak forest- reminds me of Wilmington a bit; not quite that sandy. These are directional trails that change on alternating days, so you'll have to ride it twice to experience it all. There are a few log crossings (easy), one rock that you can ride down, and a little ramp thingy. Less tech than even Crabtree has. I like it, and will return. This is the most beginner-friendly trail I've ridden around here (San Lee, Harris, Crabtree, Falls Lake, New Light, Brumley). I actually got a great workout here.
Reviewed by:JB3
Reviewed on:09/24/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
This trail is freshly cut and will benefit from being ridden in as it needs to harden. The trail is a good foundation that will develop into a fun system. Flow is great- there are sections of this trail conducive to some serious speed. This being said, there are very few challenging areas and the trail could really benefit from some technical additions to keep advanced riders interested. This trail is best enjoyed on an XC full suspension or a hardtail. I tried this trail on my enduro bike but I had a way better time on my XC. Ride it fast for a challenge.
Reviewed by:johnfekete
Reviewed on:09/24/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
The trail has good flow and almost no roots. There is one crazy rock that I chickened out on that is tough my buddy did it second try. But There is a real big hill straight west of salamader. ALSO southwest on the johnston county section is a high ridge that ends where marks creek intersects with neuse a real crazy steep hill there. Hopefully trail will continue there thats the good stuff that would make this trail alot tougher.
Reviewed by:matthew.bailey
Reviewed on:09/24/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Super flowy trail that allows you to carry a lot of speed. No real technical skills required, but there are a few sharp corners between trees that can catch you unaware if you aren't careful. There are no sustained climbs anywhere on the course. There are a few short semi-punchy climbs to deal with but they are easily handled. The entry to the trails is a gravel trail that is very loose but once you are on the trails, it is all tight singletrack. It is a speedy track that can easily be ridden on a hardtail or XC bike. Long travel bikes will be completely wasted here. There is just no use for the extra travel here..
Reviewed by:mopartodd
Reviewed on:09/22/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
It's nice to have another legal trail in the area. Although it is not a technical trail with a lot of features, it is fun to ride. The varying surface goes from a sandy clay to something that is mostly sand in places and it can catch you off guard in some corners. Not much elevation change, but it looks like the trail builder used the more interesting terrain during the build.

I like the idea of having it be a directional trail and that we have the right of way over all other users there.
Reviewed by:Lars
Reviewed on:09/21/2020
Overall:
Technical:
Climbing:
Freeride:
Scenery/Wildlife:
Flow:
Report inappropriate review
Easy at slow speed, but gets more difficult as pace comes up.

Show all reviews